More Franco Prussian War news

FPW Guard Voltigeurs

Now that we have decided to press ahead with the 1870 rules I have re-based all of my FPW armies and can now field 2 Prussian Corps (III and X), I Bavarian Corps and the Wurtemburg Division against a single French Corps of 4 Divisions.  I may have to do more French but at the moment there are more than enough figures for the 10′ x 6′ table. I have cut back on some of the cavalry as there is just too much of it and they are so vulnerable that they tend to just clutter up the rear of the table.

Next game is Friday 12 October and I hope to take some more photos then.

This entry was posted in 1870 Franco Prussian War. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Franco Prussian War news

  1. John says:

    Hopefully some pics to follow?!

  2. The Wargamorium says:

    Hello John

    Yes I hope to take some photos of the next game which has been postponed until 12 October. In the meantime I have finished rebasing my armies although they are slightly different to the sizes recommended in the 1870 Rules. I now have 6 figures per battalion and 12 per cavalry regiment and while I have three gunners per battery I have amalgamated the Divisional batteries and also the Corps batteries in order to reduce te sheer number of gun models on the table. We’ll see how this works out. Keep an eye on the blog

  3. Graham says:

    This all looks good R, what is the basing system you are using , just in case I get my Franco Prussians out of hock some time in the next four years?
    Graham

    • The Wargamorium says:

      Hello Graham

      Sorry for the delay in replying. In theory they are based for the 1870 rules but in fact they are based 1½” square for the cavalry and 1½” x 1 ¼” deep for the infantry. The artillery depends on the number of batteries represented. The batteries are grouped simply to reduce the number of gun models which would be required. I am moving towards a standard 1½” frontage for most periods prior to 20th century.

      R

Leave a Reply

