Crimean War – the Malakoff(ish) Redoubt

Below are some photographs of my newly created “Malakovian” Redoubt.  I say Malakovian as I do not have a good picture of the actual Malakoff Redoubt and I suspect that it was quite different to the final model but as far as I know it was a two storey artillery tower although not quite a rotunda.  However it is inspired by the Malakoff Redoubt and either way it will be a tough nut for the Allies to take on the wargames table.

 

I didn’t know what the roof of an artillery tower should look like so I put a semaphore signalling pole which I thought was a reasonable solution.

The guns are ships cannon from Capitan Miniatures.  There are ten guns in total over two storeys so that their field of fire can interlock.  The interior is painted matt black so rather than buy Russian artillery crews I just used some old surplus FPW figures all painted black as well.  This way you can see their silhouettes if you look in the embrasures.

The final step was the base.  This was done with Polyfilla the weight of which stabilised the whole structure and was painted to blend with the fortifications which I built last year for the Russo-Turkish War 1787 – 1792.  Please see my earlier post on this.

This entry was posted in 1854 Crimean War, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Crimean War – the Malakoff(ish) Redoubt

  1. Ken says:

    That’s nice work. I wouldn’t have thought one could get those results from brick paper. I’m impressed.

    • The Wargamorium says:

      Many thanks. I used to use this brick paper over 30 years ago and was surprised to find it was still available. It is still as good as ever!

  2. Donald MacDonald says:

    I must say I am very inpressed.
    Even if it is not accurate, it looks like it should be accurate!
    Don

    • The Wargamorium says:

      Thank you Don. That is indeed a compliment. I only hope that I do not now come across a plan of the real tower!

  3. wayne lennox says:

    Well done Robert, sure you dont want to return to Dublin and start a new war games club.
    Just like the old days, I always remember the Chinese scenery you made once upon a time or the pillboxes for The World War Two game. Keep up the good work.
    By the way I bought the Bolt Action Rules, we’ve given them a couple of run outs so far, simple, fast and a result in two nights playing.
    Regards
    Wayne

    • The Wargamorium says:

      Thanks Wayne. I am still painting the Russians for the Crimea so it will be a while yet before the game appears on the table.

  4. David says:

    Robert,
    That tower really looks the part. Excellent job.
    Regards,
    David

    • The Wargamorium says:

      Many thanks David.

      I have yet to devise rules for its assault and capture (or repulse).

      Working on the British infantry at the moment.

      Robert

Leave a Reply

