Crimean War – assault on the Malakoff

1854 Russians at Malakoff

An allied attempt was made last night to assault the Russian defences around Sebastopol but it was eventually repulsed by sheer Russian doggedness (and poor allied dice). The allies will need a lot more heavy artillery before they try that again!

The allied plan was that the siege lines would be held by the British while the French columns turned the Russian left and assaulted the works from the flank.  Russian artillery however decided otherwise.

Figures are mainly Eureka 18mm with some Old Glory 15mm French to make up the numbers.  Rules were home grown and will have to be tweaked before the next assault.

Russian defences

Russian defences

The Malakoff Tower.

The Malakoff Tower.

The Malakoff dominated everything

The Malakoff dominated everything

Russian heavy artillery in action

Russian heavy artillery in action

French assault columns advancing

French assault columns advancing

British lines.  Note the empty redans where the Russians have destroyed the British artillery

British lines. Note the empty redans where the Russians have destroyed the British artillery

Lord Raglan with his telescope

Lord Raglan with his telescope

French columns reach the Russian works

French columns reach the Russian works

One French column breaks though and overruns a gun battery.

One French column breaks though and overruns a gun battery.

The French were later repulsed. It was a most enjoyable game but more siege artillery will have to be shipped out from Europe if Sebastopol is to be taken.

This entry was posted in 1854 Crimean War. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Crimean War – assault on the Malakoff

  1. H. says:

    Do you prefer 18mm Eureka or 15mm Old Glory, Robert? I’m an Old Glory woman myself.

    • wargamorium says:

      Many thanks H. Unfortunately the Eureka range is incomplete so I have to use Old Glory to fill the gaps. The Russians are all Eureka of course as are the British.

  2. Alan says:

    The Malakoff Tower is most impressive!

  3. That is a sharp looking battle well done sir. Love the Fort. May I asked how you made it? Thanks for anyhelp.
    Dave in USA\CSA

  4. wargamorium says:

    Hello Dave.
    Many thanks for your kind words.

    If you look at another post on the blog called ‘The Malakoff(ish) Redoubt’
    https://thewargamorium.wordpress.com/2013/01/18/crimean-war-the-malakoffish-redoubt/
    you will see how I made the tower itself.

    Finding the big plastic jar was the inspiration although I had to fill it with ballast inside to stabilise it. I first covered it with squared paper (this is no longer obvious in the restored photographs) so that I could figure out how to cut the window embrasures all at the same level and the same size. I covered the lot with brick paper which I bought in a model railway shop years ago. I wasn’t sure what to put on the roof so I put a semaphore mast. Finally the base was stabilised using filler and a mdf base to stop the tower from toppling over (the base of the bottle was not flat).

    I am flattered that you liked it.

    Regards

    • Hello Hey thank you so much I missed that post sorry. And thank you for the extra info. That was very helpful! It really does look Great:). Hey can I ask you something sir I have had a bad time trying to find some of the Fortress guns like the 32Ld on Fortress Carriage and the odd Frame guns the Russians used? Any idea where I could find those guns in 15mm? I finally found the British 10in Howitzer at Old Glory Blue moon Napoleonic’s but the others are pain:( Also one last question. Can you tell me a good site to see some of the Good pics and drawings of Redans and Forts in the Crimean war. Thank you again sir for the fast kind Reply:-) God Bless you and yours and old England. Dave

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  5. wargamorium says:

    Hi Dave,
    Thank you again for your kind words.

    I used guns from Capitan Games which I found to be very good although they are hidden inside the tower and cannot be seen from the outside. For the Crimea you could also look at some 15mm ranges as they are roughly the same period. As for the fortresses I just looked at Google especially Google images. Hope this helps.
    Regards
    Robert
    http://shop.capitangames.com/index.php?id_category=322&controller=category&id_lang=7&p=2

  6. wargamorium says:

    That should read “….look at some 15mm ACW ranges….” Sorry

    • Hi hey thanks again those are the best looking 15mm crews I have seen! You have been a great help:) Keep up the Great post my friend. God Bless You and Yours Dave over the pond 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

    • Hi again now following your Great Post hey when will you get the Wine and Women! lol Take care now Thanks again for the Great help

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

Leave a Reply

